24 Reviews

Cape Animal Medical Centre

Cape Town, Western Cape
Team
{{staff.biography}}
Services
24 Hour Emergency
Acupuncture
Allergies
Dental
Deworming
Euthanasia
Laboratory
Microchipping
Nutrition
Radiology (X-Rays)
Surgery
Ultrasound
Vaccinations
Reviews
Chantal
20 Oct 2020
REPORT
On Sunday 11th October 2020 , we as a family had to make a very inhumane decision to put down our doggy Riley due to another dog bite, which my daughter is still in depression and being treated for.... Read More
On Sunday 11th October 2020 , we as a family had to make a very inhumane decision to put down our doggy Riley due to another dog bite, which my daughter is still in depression and being treated for.Taariq at reception on the day advised us that they will make contact with us in 2 to 3 days to collect his ashes, and a week later still no call.Today I follow up only to be told that he incorrectly charged the account and did not include a cremation charge to supply ashes. WHY tell us to collect it , and make the error on the account ,in charging us incorrectly, This is beyond disappointing and heartbreaking 😒 πŸ’” Read Less
Lorraine Finkelstein
27 Jan 2020
REPORT
Thank you very much to the staff on duty on Sunday night 26th January at 10pm who very compassionately treated our dearest 12 year old Rottweiler, Zoe, when it was discussed and decided upon to human... Read More
Thank you very much to the staff on duty on Sunday night 26th January at 10pm who very compassionately treated our dearest 12 year old Rottweiler, Zoe, when it was discussed and decided upon to humanely end her suffering . Much appreciated . Lorraine. Read Less
Response from Cape Animal Medical Centre
2 Feb 2020
Dear Lorraine. Our deepest sympathy with the passing on duty. You are right, we truly care for pets as if our own and we try to make the death of any pet as easy as bearable as possible. We are thinking of you in your time of mourning!
Anja Viljoen
14 Jan 2020
REPORT
We had a terrible experience with the service and help they gave us with our extremely sick cat. On arrival there was absolutely no understanding of what was wrong with her nor really her condition or... Read More
We had a terrible experience with the service and help they gave us with our extremely sick cat. On arrival there was absolutely no understanding of what was wrong with her nor really her condition or who she is. She was handed to us full of her own feces and urine and left cold and wet in a cage to presumably β€œrecover”. After a R3000 bill we had to readmit her to a animal hospital, in a worse condition than we left her Saturday morning. My heart breaks that this industry has become wat it is, and that they take advantage of pet owners sorrow and misfortune. Read Less
Response from Cape Animal Medical Centre
14 Jan 2020
Hi Anja. Our apologies for your experience with your cat at CAMC - we really did not try to take advantage of you, as pet owner! Can you please send me more details, so we can look into the matter? Under whose name was your cat booked in, as we cannot find any case under your name? You can send it to [email protected]
Peter C-F
8 Jul 2018
REPORT
To Tyler and the Veterinary doctor on duty today, Sunday 8th July, thank you so much for your kindness and compassion when we had to put our furry little 23 year old to sleep. Very much appreciated - ... Read More
To Tyler and the Veterinary doctor on duty today, Sunday 8th July, thank you so much for your kindness and compassion when we had to put our furry little 23 year old to sleep. Very much appreciated - you made a sad and difficult time so much easier for us. Read Less
Michelle Ovens
29 Jun 2018
REPORT
Excellent service. Vets are attentive and happy to take time to discuss your pets health issues.
Michelle September
26 Jun 2018
REPORT
Excellent service. Great doctors.
Robby Balona
15 Jun 2018
REPORT
They were amazing. I lost my soul mate this week and they where wonderful and very caring.. They go over and above and the vets are fantastic
Shadey
5 May 2018
REPORT
We had fantastic service, and fees. Our kitties even received gift packs from them after their surgery!
Melissa Govender
13 Apr 2018
REPORT
Great service. Friendly staff. Gentle vets.
Anna Varney-Wong
20 Mar 2018
REPORT
These people saved my cat's life (he now has 3 of his 9 lives left)! Grateful.
Craig Strachan
14 Mar 2018
REPORT
They are open 24 hours. The vets are excellent and compassionate. Note after hour rates are expensive, so only for emergencies. But if you have a midnight crisis this is the vet to visit.
Ilse Fourie
28 Feb 2018
REPORT
Dr Struan Muirhead is amazing. He saved our dog after a very nasty tail infection and went above and beyond to make our little guy feel comfortable and safe. Staff are all sincerely caring. Fantastic ... Read More
Dr Struan Muirhead is amazing. He saved our dog after a very nasty tail infection and went above and beyond to make our little guy feel comfortable and safe. Staff are all sincerely caring. Fantastic that it is 24hrs for all emergencies. Read Less
Saligh Dollie
10 Feb 2018
REPORT
Very pleasant vet to tske your pet to. Comprehensive and thorough with the animals. Personal and empathetic Drs. Dr Mulder was excellent and very caring with our dog. Only thing is they're EXPENSIVE.
Marianne Kuttel
27 May 2017
REPORT
Dont even think about it if you dont have a credit card ready...! . Receptionist so intent on verifying your bank details, contact details, identity details and mostly that you can pay. That your p... Read More
Dont even think about it if you dont have a credit card ready...! . Receptionist so intent on verifying your bank details, contact details, identity details and mostly that you can pay. That your pet can die in the meantime is of little relevance. Read Less
Toni Stadler
24 Apr 2017
REPORT
Good service. Pricey
Blake W
14 Apr 2017
REPORT
Great vets. Generally get a felling that they are genuinely concerned about our animals. Reception here is especially good. Always friendly and try give advice when in their scope of understanding. Wa... Read More
Great vets. Generally get a felling that they are genuinely concerned about our animals. Reception here is especially good. Always friendly and try give advice when in their scope of understanding. Waiting times are sometimes very long here.Read Less
Chris Metcalfe
7 Jan 2017
REPORT
Putting your beloved pet down is one of the most gut-wrenching experiences ever, but their guiding knowledge and care made it bearable.
lala by
3 Jan 2017
REPORT
Very friendly staff who show such compassion for the animals and their owners. I am impressed and immensely grateful.
Jean-Pierre Robak
27 Dec 2016
REPORT
The Cape Animal Medical Centre helped us with our dog when no one else could even diagnose what was ailing him. It's a brilliant facility with incredibly talented Dr.'s.
Robyn Hazekamp
7 Oct 2016
REPORT
They saw my dog without an appointment, were quick to diagnose, and took great care of her even though I'm sure she wouldn't have made it easy. Then they followed up a few days later to ask how she wa... Read More
They saw my dog without an appointment, were quick to diagnose, and took great care of her even though I'm sure she wouldn't have made it easy. Then they followed up a few days later to ask how she was doing. Lovely people here, and very good at handling fearful dogs. Read Less
Riaad Hoosain
26 Jul 2016
REPORT
Fantastic service experience! My very ill dog is spending an overnight at the clinic but I won't be having a sleepless night as I know he is in very capable hands. Very peofessional passionate staff ... Read More
Fantastic service experience! My very ill dog is spending an overnight at the clinic but I won't be having a sleepless night as I know he is in very capable hands. Very peofessional passionate staff who really love animals. Highly recommended...just make sure your pockets are deep if you are planning an overnight stay. Read Less
Roxanne MacEwan
6 Sep 2014
REPORT
I would like to say a big thank you to Dr Brad Mulder and Dr Marisa Naude for taking such good care of my cat, Peter rabbit. He has made a full recovery and is back to being his normal self. I receive... Read More
I would like to say a big thank you to Dr Brad Mulder and Dr Marisa Naude for taking such good care of my cat, Peter rabbit. He has made a full recovery and is back to being his normal self. I received excellent service and feedback, and would highly recommend Cape Animal Medical Centre in future. Thank you! Read Less
Ash Elkington
22 Aug 2014
REPORT
"I should be grateful that they saved my dogs life" Taking my dog to this clinic has been the most stressful experience that I have ever endured. I have titled each section to make it easier to fol... Read More
"I should be grateful that they saved my dogs life" Taking my dog to this clinic has been the most stressful experience that I have ever endured. I have titled each section to make it easier to follow. During surgery: After a laparotomy to remove a significant amount of kelp from my dogs stomach I was informed that a surgical swab may have accidentally been left in her abdominal cavity. I was also informed that she had developed a heart murmur after surgery. Over the course of a few weeks, scans were done to find the "missing swab" and I was also informed that she had a thickened mitral heart valve which may cause complications later on in life (I was not informed further on this condition and then proceeded to do my own research and subsequently took my dog to another vet for information). Two sets of differing information: I was then phoned a week later and was told that "there was nothing wrong with her heart." At this point I was both confused and distressed after discovering from other sources that my dog now had a lifetime of problems and medication to look forward to. So which was it? Did she have a heart condition or not? Punctuality: The appointment time for her scans were also not adhered to. She was booked in for 10:30am and the scan was only done at 12:45. Post-op checkups: 2 weeks after her operation, her stitches were due to come out. After a "post-op" scan and visit to the vet, her stitches had still not been removed and I was informed that I only had to see them again in a months time! Luckily I took her to her previous vet who removed the stitches and informed me about what to do from there on. Would the stitches have been left in for a month if I had not taken her to the other vet? Calling the vet: Before taking my dog to another vet, I phoned the clinic numerous times to try and ascertain what was wrong with her heart and what I should do. I was told that a vet would phone me back several times which never happened. At the end of this debacle my dog is thankfully still alive. A swab has not yet been found in her abdominal cavity and as far as the clinic is concerned, her thickened heart valve is no longer thickened. After lodging a complaint with the practice manager, we received a call from one of the vets during which she promptly hung-up the phone. During the conversation i was told that "I should be thankful that they saved my dogs life". I am thankful that they saved her life, I am not happy at the negligence that my dog and myself received over the course of them saving her life. I will NEVER take my dog back to this clinic and I advise other people to take their pets in emergencies to either Belmont Road Vet Clinic or Panorama Vet Clinic as no-one should have to go through what we went through. Total cost of surgery: approx. R10 000 Read Less
donovan smit
6 Jan 2014
REPORT
Good service
Photo Gallery
  • Business's Photo
  • Business's Photo
  • Business's Photo
Book an Appointment
Online booking unavailable
Please call
021 674 0034
78 Rosmead Avenue Kenilworth
Cape Town Western Cape 7550
Business Hours
Monday
Mon
00:00AM-24:00PM
Tuesday
Tue
00:00AM-24:00PM
Wednesday
Wed
00:00AM-24:00PM
Thursday
Thu
00:00AM-24:00PM
Friday
Fri
00:00AM-24:00PM
Saturday
Sat
00:00AM-24:00PM
Sunday
Sun
00:00AM-24:00PM
Incorrect information? Let us know

Cape Animal Medical Centre

Cape Town, Western Cape
(24)
78 Rosmead Avenue Kenilworth
Cape Town Western Cape 7550
{{getDateMonth(date)}}
{{getDateDay(date)}}th
{{getOpeningTime(time)}}{{getOpeningTimeAMPM(time)}}
None Available
{{getDateMonth(date)}}
{{getDateDay(date)}}th
{{getOpeningTime(time)}}{{getOpeningTimeAMPM(time)}}
None Available
Online booking unavailable
Please call
Monday
00:00AM-24:00PM
Tuesday
00:00AM-24:00PM
Wednesday
00:00AM-24:00PM
Thursday
00:00AM-24:00PM
Friday
00:00AM-24:00PM
Saturday
00:00AM-24:00PM
Sunday
00:00AM-24:00PM
24 Hour Emergency
Acupuncture
Allergies
Dental
Deworming
Euthanasia
Laboratory
Microchipping
Nutrition
Radiology (X-Rays)
Surgery
Ultrasound
Vaccinations
{{staff.biography}}
Chantal
20 Oct 2020
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
On Sunday 11th October 2020 , we as a family had to make a very inhumane decision to put down our doggy Riley due to another dog bite, which my daughter is still in depression and being treated for.... Read More
On Sunday 11th October 2020 , we as a family had to make a very inhumane decision to put down our doggy Riley due to another dog bite, which my daughter is still in depression and being treated for.Taariq at reception on the day advised us that they will make contact with us in 2 to 3 days to collect his ashes, and a week later still no call.Today I follow up only to be told that he incorrectly charged the account and did not include a cremation charge to supply ashes. WHY tell us to collect it , and make the error on the account ,in charging us incorrectly, This is beyond disappointing and heartbreaking 😒 πŸ’” Read Less
Lorraine Finkelstein
27 Jan 2020
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Thank you very much to the staff on duty on Sunday night 26th January at 10pm who very compassionately treated our dearest 12 year old Rottweiler, Zoe, when it was discussed and decided upon to human... Read More
Thank you very much to the staff on duty on Sunday night 26th January at 10pm who very compassionately treated our dearest 12 year old Rottweiler, Zoe, when it was discussed and decided upon to humanely end her suffering . Much appreciated . Lorraine. Read Less
Response from Cape Animal Medical Centre
2 Feb 2020
Dear Lorraine. Our deepest sympathy with the passing on duty. You are right, we truly care for pets as if our own and we try to make the death of any pet as easy as bearable as possible. We are thinking of you in your time of mourning!
Anja Viljoen
14 Jan 2020
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
We had a terrible experience with the service and help they gave us with our extremely sick cat. On arrival there was absolutely no understanding of what was wrong with her nor really her condition or... Read More
We had a terrible experience with the service and help they gave us with our extremely sick cat. On arrival there was absolutely no understanding of what was wrong with her nor really her condition or who she is. She was handed to us full of her own feces and urine and left cold and wet in a cage to presumably β€œrecover”. After a R3000 bill we had to readmit her to a animal hospital, in a worse condition than we left her Saturday morning. My heart breaks that this industry has become wat it is, and that they take advantage of pet owners sorrow and misfortune. Read Less
Response from Cape Animal Medical Centre
14 Jan 2020
Hi Anja. Our apologies for your experience with your cat at CAMC - we really did not try to take advantage of you, as pet owner! Can you please send me more details, so we can look into the matter? Under whose name was your cat booked in, as we cannot find any case under your name? You can send it to [email protected]
Peter C-F
8 Jul 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
To Tyler and the Veterinary doctor on duty today, Sunday 8th July, thank you so much for your kindness and compassion when we had to put our furry little 23 year old to sleep. Very much appreciated - ... Read More
To Tyler and the Veterinary doctor on duty today, Sunday 8th July, thank you so much for your kindness and compassion when we had to put our furry little 23 year old to sleep. Very much appreciated - you made a sad and difficult time so much easier for us. Read Less
Michelle Ovens
29 Jun 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Excellent service. Vets are attentive and happy to take time to discuss your pets health issues.
Michelle September
26 Jun 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Excellent service. Great doctors.
Robby Balona
15 Jun 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
They were amazing. I lost my soul mate this week and they where wonderful and very caring.. They go over and above and the vets are fantastic
Shadey
5 May 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
We had fantastic service, and fees. Our kitties even received gift packs from them after their surgery!
Melissa Govender
13 Apr 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Great service. Friendly staff. Gentle vets.
Anna Varney-Wong
20 Mar 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
These people saved my cat's life (he now has 3 of his 9 lives left)! Grateful.
Craig Strachan
14 Mar 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
They are open 24 hours. The vets are excellent and compassionate. Note after hour rates are expensive, so only for emergencies. But if you have a midnight crisis this is the vet to visit.
Ilse Fourie
28 Feb 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Dr Struan Muirhead is amazing. He saved our dog after a very nasty tail infection and went above and beyond to make our little guy feel comfortable and safe. Staff are all sincerely caring. Fantastic ... Read More
Dr Struan Muirhead is amazing. He saved our dog after a very nasty tail infection and went above and beyond to make our little guy feel comfortable and safe. Staff are all sincerely caring. Fantastic that it is 24hrs for all emergencies. Read Less
Saligh Dollie
10 Feb 2018
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Very pleasant vet to tske your pet to. Comprehensive and thorough with the animals. Personal and empathetic Drs. Dr Mulder was excellent and very caring with our dog. Only thing is they're EXPENSIVE.
Marianne Kuttel
27 May 2017
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Dont even think about it if you dont have a credit card ready...! . Receptionist so intent on verifying your bank details, contact details, identity details and mostly that you can pay. That your p... Read More
Dont even think about it if you dont have a credit card ready...! . Receptionist so intent on verifying your bank details, contact details, identity details and mostly that you can pay. That your pet can die in the meantime is of little relevance. Read Less
Toni Stadler
24 Apr 2017
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Good service. Pricey
Blake W
14 Apr 2017
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Great vets. Generally get a felling that they are genuinely concerned about our animals. Reception here is especially good. Always friendly and try give advice when in their scope of understanding. Wa... Read More
Great vets. Generally get a felling that they are genuinely concerned about our animals. Reception here is especially good. Always friendly and try give advice when in their scope of understanding. Waiting times are sometimes very long here.Read Less
Chris Metcalfe
7 Jan 2017
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Putting your beloved pet down is one of the most gut-wrenching experiences ever, but their guiding knowledge and care made it bearable.
lala by
3 Jan 2017
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Very friendly staff who show such compassion for the animals and their owners. I am impressed and immensely grateful.
Jean-Pierre Robak
27 Dec 2016
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
The Cape Animal Medical Centre helped us with our dog when no one else could even diagnose what was ailing him. It's a brilliant facility with incredibly talented Dr.'s.
Robyn Hazekamp
7 Oct 2016
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
They saw my dog without an appointment, were quick to diagnose, and took great care of her even though I'm sure she wouldn't have made it easy. Then they followed up a few days later to ask how she wa... Read More
They saw my dog without an appointment, were quick to diagnose, and took great care of her even though I'm sure she wouldn't have made it easy. Then they followed up a few days later to ask how she was doing. Lovely people here, and very good at handling fearful dogs. Read Less
Riaad Hoosain
26 Jul 2016
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Fantastic service experience! My very ill dog is spending an overnight at the clinic but I won't be having a sleepless night as I know he is in very capable hands. Very peofessional passionate staff ... Read More
Fantastic service experience! My very ill dog is spending an overnight at the clinic but I won't be having a sleepless night as I know he is in very capable hands. Very peofessional passionate staff who really love animals. Highly recommended...just make sure your pockets are deep if you are planning an overnight stay. Read Less
Roxanne MacEwan
6 Sep 2014
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
I would like to say a big thank you to Dr Brad Mulder and Dr Marisa Naude for taking such good care of my cat, Peter rabbit. He has made a full recovery and is back to being his normal self. I receive... Read More
I would like to say a big thank you to Dr Brad Mulder and Dr Marisa Naude for taking such good care of my cat, Peter rabbit. He has made a full recovery and is back to being his normal self. I received excellent service and feedback, and would highly recommend Cape Animal Medical Centre in future. Thank you! Read Less
Ash Elkington
22 Aug 2014
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
"I should be grateful that they saved my dogs life" Taking my dog to this clinic has been the most stressful experience that I have ever endured. I have titled each section to make it easier to fol... Read More
"I should be grateful that they saved my dogs life" Taking my dog to this clinic has been the most stressful experience that I have ever endured. I have titled each section to make it easier to follow. During surgery: After a laparotomy to remove a significant amount of kelp from my dogs stomach I was informed that a surgical swab may have accidentally been left in her abdominal cavity. I was also informed that she had developed a heart murmur after surgery. Over the course of a few weeks, scans were done to find the "missing swab" and I was also informed that she had a thickened mitral heart valve which may cause complications later on in life (I was not informed further on this condition and then proceeded to do my own research and subsequently took my dog to another vet for information). Two sets of differing information: I was then phoned a week later and was told that "there was nothing wrong with her heart." At this point I was both confused and distressed after discovering from other sources that my dog now had a lifetime of problems and medication to look forward to. So which was it? Did she have a heart condition or not? Punctuality: The appointment time for her scans were also not adhered to. She was booked in for 10:30am and the scan was only done at 12:45. Post-op checkups: 2 weeks after her operation, her stitches were due to come out. After a "post-op" scan and visit to the vet, her stitches had still not been removed and I was informed that I only had to see them again in a months time! Luckily I took her to her previous vet who removed the stitches and informed me about what to do from there on. Would the stitches have been left in for a month if I had not taken her to the other vet? Calling the vet: Before taking my dog to another vet, I phoned the clinic numerous times to try and ascertain what was wrong with her heart and what I should do. I was told that a vet would phone me back several times which never happened. At the end of this debacle my dog is thankfully still alive. A swab has not yet been found in her abdominal cavity and as far as the clinic is concerned, her thickened heart valve is no longer thickened. After lodging a complaint with the practice manager, we received a call from one of the vets during which she promptly hung-up the phone. During the conversation i was told that "I should be thankful that they saved my dogs life". I am thankful that they saved her life, I am not happy at the negligence that my dog and myself received over the course of them saving her life. I will NEVER take my dog back to this clinic and I advise other people to take their pets in emergencies to either Belmont Road Vet Clinic or Panorama Vet Clinic as no-one should have to go through what we went through. Total cost of surgery: approx. R10 000 Read Less
donovan smit
6 Jan 2014
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
REPORT
Good service
Incorrect information? Let us know